The Many Lives Of Avery Snow – Review

averysnow1The Many Lives Of Avery Snow (Past Lives Series Book 1) 

Author: Christy Sloat

Format: eBook (Kindle)

Rating: 4 1/2 Stars

Synopsis:   Avery Snow leads a boring, no thrills life. She enjoys her job at Sunrise Estates, a retirement home, as it’s the one place where she doesn’t feel left out. Everything in Avery’s life is just as she wanted it, lackluster and bland. At least up until she receives a haunting message that a man is looking for her… from a past life. Landon has spent his life searching for his other half, as he has so many times before. His soul needs her’s to survive, and he is determined to make Avery his once more, even if it means breaking all of the rules. 

Dallas has had his eye on the gentle beauty that frequents the bar where he works for quite some time. He sees something in her that touches a chord within, and he, in turn, lights a fire in Avery that she has never felt before, at least not that she can remember. With the help of her spirit guide and protector, Ianni, Avery recalls her past lives and the man she shared them with. But now Avery must make a choice she never dreamed possible. Will she choose Landon, the man from her past, or Dallas, the man who promises her a different future? Do you believe in love that can last lifetimes?

 

Review:

The idea of past lives had always intrigued me, so when I got the chance to read this, I jumped at it! When I started this book, I wasn’t sure I would like it. Avery’s story started out slow for my taste and there were a lot of grammatical errors. I will state here that I am a reader and not a writer and I know how much work goes into writing a book. But as a reader, it was hard for me to ignore those grammatical errors. For the first few chapters I had to force myself to keep reading. But I am very, very glad that I did! The story starts with Avery basically not sleeping for three months, and it explains very little as to why. Myself having a bit of a tendency towards insomnia, I sympathized with Avery right away. We learn more about the reason for Avery’s insomnia as the story continues. We meet her Aunt Paul who says something to help explain it (I would be more specific, but I hate spoilers!) and that is also where the story begins to get more interesting. We don’t learn much about Aunt Paul other than she took in Avery after her dad ran off and her mother died and, I admit, it makes me sad. I want to know more about the woman who helped raise Avery! Around the same time, we meet Ianni, Avery’s Spirit Guide. She introduces Avery to a world she thought only existed to her psychic mother. A world she thought she would never see. Ianni breaks the rules and shows her that not only does it exist, but that there is someone from her past that is trying to find her.

Landon…what can I say about Landon…well for starters, who doesn’t want a guy that is literally willing to do anything for them? Go anywhere just to find them? …..well, to me is sounds kinda stalker-ish. And when we first start to learn about Landon it really does seem that way. As the story moves on it just becomes sad that he is so obsessed and feels more pathetic than stalker-like.  He says he loves her, but if he really truly did, he would just want her to be happy. Eventually he comes to that realization himself and resides himself to just being her friend…..sort of. Avery does have feelings for the stalker, I mean, Landon, but she falls for Dallas as well. Dallas is not only the bartender at Avery’s typical after-work hangout, but he is also Landon’s cousin….so that complicates things a little along the way. Having a thing for the bad boy look, I’m not-so-secretly rooting for Dallas.

As everyone knows, a good side must always have a darker side. That is where the main conflict of this story comes in. The Dark Guides. Again, I don’t want to give anything away, so I’m not going to say much about them…but (teaser 😉 ) it’s funny how something evil can really bring people together! I do hate that we don’t learn much about the Dark Guides, I’m hoping there is more in the next book!

Anyway, I really think you should give this book a shot! The first few chapters were hard to get through, but once I got past them, I couldn’t put it down! I finished reading this in just a few hours…at work! And right now, the eBook is FREE on Amazon so there is no excuse not to try it out!!! The link for Amazon is ((here)) the link for Barnes & Noble is ((here)) also eBook format for FREE! You can also get it from Kobo in eBook for FREE ((here)) If you’re more of a “support local” kind of person (which is a great thing!) you can search IndiBound ((here))

If you want to learn more about Christy Sloat you can just click on her name at the top of the page to go to her website or you can click ((here)) to go to her blog!

kkv

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Many Lives Of Avery Snow – Review

  1. Pingback: So What Is ‘Christy Sloat Month’? | The MissPhyre Library

Leave a Reply

