The Unraveling of Avery Snow-Review

unravelingThe Unraveling Of Avery Snow (Past Lives Book 2)

Author: Christy Sloat

Format: eBook (Kindle-Available in other formats)

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: As Avery Snow settles into her life and relationships with those around her, she fights to forget her past lives. All of which she spent with Landon, who still has no recollection of who she really is. It seems better that way. Even though she still feels a draw to his soul, she chooses to ignore it. For now everything is fine. Her boyfriend, Dallas, has opened a new restaurant. Her friends, Ianni and Kerri, are settling into their lives as well. But when news of a new Dark Guide is revealed, Avery is forced to start thinking about the life she truly leads. One that is very abnormal. One she is desperate to forget. This Dark Guide is determined to make Avery pay for the death of someone she held dear.
Now Avery’s life has gone from seemingly perfect to falling apart. What will be at stake next? Her life? Her love? And who will be there in the end to help her up off the ground?
Even the strongest love can unravel.
Will Avery be able to hold it all together, or will she just let go?

Review:

While I really, really, REALLY like the first book in the series The Many Lives of Avery Snow (see my review here) I had a hard time saying I loved it. I have no such qualms with The Unraveling Of Avery Snow…I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! We get a chance to get to know the characters a little more, especially Avery. We start to realize why she makes the decisions she does. She definitely comes into her own. And of course, a happy ending.

************SPOILERS************

In my review of book 1 I stated that I was rooting for Dallas…I changed my loyalties pretty quick when he forgot Valentines Day. I myself am not a huge fan of the holiday, only my Daddy is allowed to buy me a present, but I do believe it should be acknowledged by at least a kiss and a “Happy Valentine’s Day” by ones significant other. When he planned the trip to make up for it I still had my doubts…and then he canceled. That was it for me, I wanted Landon back. And it seemed that I wasn’t the only one with that idea 🙂 I think it’s around here that Avery herself starts to question things. Not just her relationship with Dallas, but whether or not she can ignore her feelings for Landon. In book 2 the feeling of a stalker is gone. We are left with someone who seems sad and a little lost. Like he knows where he needs to be but isn’t sure how to get there.

After Dallas finally does the inevitable, Avery takes off for a while to clear her head and work through some things. This brings us to my favorite part of the book…when Astrid takes Avery for a hike in the HOH Rainforest. With the way Christy writes it, it sounds like something everybody needs to do. Go somewhere beautiful, work hard and get some perspective. Through out the book there are things that made me suspect that there is more going on with Landon than we are being told. It’s not until after Avery does some soul-searching that we actually get to figure out what it is. And let me tell you, I did NOT see it coming! I had my suspicions on what it could be, but I wasn’t even close. I don’t want to give the whole book away (just in case!) so I’m not gonna tell you what it is, you’re just gonna have to read it for yourself!

Of course there is more conflict than just love interests. Another Dark Guide. And not just any Dark Guide, one out for revenge. After two really bad attacks, Avery decides enough is enough. And without the help of our dear Ianni, she has to figure out a way to stop this. Once and for all. With the help of her new Guide, Amanda, she does just that. And nearly dies in the process.

************************************
This brings us to the end…there is no other way she could have ended this book. And that’s all I’m gonna say 🙂 I really wish there was more, but all good things must come to an end.

I want to mention here that there is a Novella that goes with the Past Lives Series. It’s a story about Ianni….very fittingly called Ianni. I will be reviewing this soon and will have a link to it as soon as it’s up!

If you want to pick up this or any of Christy’s other books, this is where you can do that:

Amazon                 Barnes & Noble                  Smashwords

You can follow Christy Sloat on her website / blog or social media:

Facebook            Goodreads            Twitter            Instagram

kkv

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Unraveling of Avery Snow-Review

  1. Pingback: So What Is ‘Christy Sloat Month’? | The MissPhyre Library

Leave a comment