Compulsion by Martina Boone – Review

compulsionCompulsion (The Heirs of Watson Island #1)

Author: Martina Boone

Format: Read online at Pulseit.com

Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis:

Three plantations. Two wishes. One ancient curse.

All her life, Barrie Watson has been a virtual prisoner in the house where she lives with her shut-in mother. When her mother dies, Barrie promises to put some mileage on her stiletto heels. But she finds a new kind of prison at her aunt’s South Carolina plantation instead–a prison guarded by an ancient spirit who long ago cursed one of the three founding families of Watson Island and gave the others magical gifts that became compulsions.

Stuck with the ghosts of a generations-old feud and hunted by forces she cannot see, Barrie must find a way to break free of the family legacy. With the help of sun-kissed Eight Beaufort, who knows what Barrie wants before she knows herself, the last Watson heir starts to unravel her family’s twisted secrets. What she finds is dangerous: a love she never expected, a river that turns to fire at midnight, a gorgeous cousin who isn’t what she seems, and very real enemies who want both Eight and Barrie dead

Review:

       I was lucky enough to catch this book while it was free on Pulseit.com for 24 hours. (For those that don’t know, pulseit.com regularly posts entire books that you can read for free, but you only have 24 hours to read it before it is no longer free.) I couldn’t have stopped reading Compulsion if my apartment was on fire. I finished this book in under 4 hours. Compulsion is the very definition of ‘must read’.

I had planned on writing my typical straight-forward review after reading Compulsion. But upon finishing it, I needed to reflect for a few days. A few days turned into a couple of weeks and I am still unable to find the right words to tell you guys how much I love this book. It’s the first book in almost ten years that compelled me to write the author. It wasn’t just the amazing imagery, realistic characters and fantastic story telling that I love so much. The meaning behind the story, the way Barrie handles the situations she is put into, her ability to see past what others say and see the best in everybody (no matter how it turned out in the end). There is a lot that we can learn from Compulsion. This book is so much more than the genres we put it into. It needs to be read by everyone, everywhere. Just thinking about it makes me tear-up again with all the emotion I felt after finishing this beautiful book.

I had been in a kind of reading slump before I read Compulsion. While I really enjoyed the books I read I wasn’t able to connect with characters or story. That changed as soon as I opened this up. Having experienced a lot of loss in the past year (family members, pets and moving…twice.) I connected with Barrie immediately and felt her pain. Though I have to admit that she handled everthing way better than I did haha  One of the things I love most, is that Martina included a fabulous Drag Queen in her story. I myself am a huge fan of RuPaul and many other gorgeous queens so I was excited to finally read a book that included this amazing subculture, even if it didn’t go too in-depth. My only complaint with this book is that it ended! I don’t know how I am going to wait for Persuasion (The Heirs of Watson Island #2) to get here! (Expected publication: October 2015)

Add Compulsion to Goodreads       Add Persuasion to Goodreads

Buy Compulsion

Amazon       B&N

Find Martina Boone

Facebook       Twitter      Website

For those interested, I have a giveaway over on our Facebook page where you can win some COMPULSION sway including and eBook copy! Hurry, contest ends Sunday!!!

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Compulsion by Martina Boone – Review

  1. I LOVED Compulsion. I pre-ordered it whilst on a Southern paranormal kick (seriously, if it was set in the South and had any paranormal element at all, I was on it) , and once I received it, I tore through it. The characters, the story, just everything. Unfortunately, my copy got borrowed and never returned.

Leave a Reply

