Something To Dream On – Review/Guest Post + Giveaway(Over)

WELCOME! WELCOME!

       I am so stoked to share this with you guys today! I have been waiting for SOMETHING TO DREAM ON by Diane Rinella for forever and it’s finally here!

Scroll and enter to win a signed copy and SWAG pack!

STDO_cover

 If a painting in the home of your perfect man reflects your dreams of doom, do you run, or do you dare to embrace love?

While Lizetta lives a life of compassion, childhood bullying over a few extra pounds have caused this sparky woman to lose sight of the beauty of her soul. Jensen’s recent past is filled with substance abuse, shady morals, and loose women. A brutal wake up call forced him to find his way back to the gentle soul he once was; however, there are some whose futures depend on the return of the demon.

Souls can heal, but how long can they fight the forces that seek to destroy them? If one of those forces is the person who shattered your self-image, and she is determined to take down the one you love, could you still believe that everyone deserves a second chance?

Currently on sale of 99 cents, or free with Kindle Unlimited.

amazon-button

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(Gotta love the cover, right? It’s Gorgeous! I need a giant poster of it hanging in my personal library. And that title…WOW! It should have prepared me for the amazing story inside. I was blown away!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

STDO3

 MY REVIEW

    My Rating: 5 Stars

       Where do I even start telling you how amazing this book is? I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting when I started reading Something To Dream On, but I most definitely did not expect the amazing journey it took me on.

In Something To Dream On, Diane’s characters take on a lot of issues that some people have a hard time talking about and brings them to the center of the story. Bullying, addiction, and abuse are just the beginning of what brings these characters to each other and influences their decisions. By page 13, I was in tears. On page 142 my heart broke. But by the end, the world seemed like a much brighter place.

This was my first time reading a book by Diane Rinella and I am completely blown away. Not only do I feel like I got to know Jensen, Lizetta and Laura, I feel like I know Diane. You can tell that she poured herself into this story, heart and soul. And we as readers definitely benefit from it. Having dealt with a lot of body issues I retained due to bullying, I connected a lot with Lizetta. I’ve even had to go through the pain of knowing a loved one is/was an addict. Jensen is the perfect example of a recovering addict and my heart broke for him time and again. When you first meet Laura, she isn’t really a likable character. But as you learn more about her, you start to understand her a little more. And you realize that there is always more to the story than what we think we know. As Diane so elegantly wrote in response to one of my tweets about STDO:

“To everything there is a season, and every word I write has reason.”

       To say I read this at the perfect time in my life would be an understatement. I felt like I was meant to read it when I did. I let the universe guide me. Take this as the universe guiding you: read Something To Dream On, and make this world a better place.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

DRinellaAuthor_sm

Enjoying San Francisco as a backdrop, the ghosts in Diane’s 150-year old Victorian home augment the chorus in her head. With insomnia as their catalyst, these voices have become multifarious characters that haunt her well into the sun’s crowning hours, refusing to let go until they have manipulated her into succumbing to their whims. Her experiences as an actress, business owner, artisan cake designer, software project manager, Internet radio disc jockey, vintage rock n’ roll journalist/fan girl, and lover of dark and quirky personalities influence her idiosyncratic writing.

Website: www.dianerinellaauthor.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DianeRinellaAuthor

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DianeRinella

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DianeRinella

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+DianeRinella/posts

TSU: https://www.tsu.co/DianeRinella

Video URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjdT0zUuKYI

Goodreads profile: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6592108.Diane_Rinella

STDO5

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

       I have something special to share with you guys before we get to the giveaway…a Guest Post by none other than Diane Rinella herself!!! I’m pretty excited to share this with you guys so here it is:

The Naming of Something To Dream On
By Diane Rinella

       Naming a book can be a fun challenge. It is also very stressful. Just because a title is catchy does not mean that people will latch on to it, let alone be intrigued enough to buy the product. In fact, any marketing person will tell you there is a science to naming a product. Sadly, Indie authors are not marketing people, nor do we generally have any at our disposal. As a result, Indies will often name their projects in a way that they find not only fitting, but also artistically liberating. Case in point, anyone who has clued in that the name of my novel, Scary Modsters … and Creepy Freaks, is a parody of a David Bowie album has loved the book. Others have had their interest grabbed by the play on words. They also love the book. Then there are those who have no inkling as to why a book would have such an odd name. Fortunately, those who take a chance on it see the big picture and come to appreciate the humor.

I had just about gotten half of the way through the first draft of Something To Dream On when inspiration for the title hit. I had already established that dreams would play a big part in the story, but working that into a title just wasn’t clicking. Then I visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I am not one to spend a lot of time looking at fish, but it was hard to tear me away from their jellyfish exhibit. It was totally psychedelic! Not only was I bathed in black light, everywhere I turned there were walls of glowing fish. One room had giant tubes of them and was surrounded by mirrors that made the display even more surreal. It was like going to a wild party under the sea!

When I finally tore myself away and left the exhibit, a quote on the wall halted me in my tracks.

“You have to give people something to dream on.” – Jimi Hendrix

       I stared, stunned. It was perfect! The universe had given me the title and placed it before me in giant letters. I took a photo of the quote and knew my latest work had been named.

Hendrix

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wasn’t that an amazing story?! I love to hear how authors come up with the names for their books and this one blew me away. It was meant to be! And yup, that’s the actual photo she took of the quote! I know the giveaway is the real reason you’re here so…..TA-DA!

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Guest Post, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something To Dream On – Review/Guest Post + Giveaway(Over)

  1. Thank you so much for the awesome post and review! I really appreciate the time you took to do it all. Still loving the tweets you sent me while you were reading. Schweet!

Leave a Reply

