Giveaway(Over) + Review – The Brown House by Christy Sloat

christysloatbanner       Hi, Librarians! This is the first official review of Christy Sloat Month! As you can see in our lovely Official Christy Sloat Month Banner, Christy has written nine books (9 people!) Slumber being the most recent (releasing on March 16th!) Don’t forget the giveaway at the bottom!!! It starts today and runs until Feb. 28th!

Today I am reviewing THE BROWN HOUSE which is the first in a four book set, three novels and one novella. Let’s get started!

brownhouseThe Brown House (The Visitor’s Series #1)

Author: Christy Sloat

Genre: YA, Young Adult

My Rating: 4 1/2 Stars

Synopsis:

Some secrets should never be revealed…

       Brylee Branson begrudgingly made the excruciating move with her family from the warm sandy beaches of California to small town living in New Jersey. As if she wasn’t miserable enough, they’ve moved into a creepy old house that everyone in the area claims is haunted. Brylee dismisses the idea of ghosts and hauntings, until she begins to see and hear things that can’t be explained…

       Brylee has no choice but to seek the help of new friends to unlock the secrets of this place she now calls home. But some secrets should never be revealed. Can the teens find a way to release the spirits imprisoned within the walls? Or will the curse claim them, too?

*Synopsis taken from Goodreads

My Review

       Christy Sloat starts off the Visitor’s Series right with The Brown House. We begin with Brylee and her parents stuck in a car driving from California to New Jersey. Talk about most teenagers worst nightmare. But Brylee seems to be very mature and handles it quite well. Not just the drive, but the reason behind the drive, too; they have to move due to losing their home. I was so happy I didn’t have to read about another whiny teenager! Even when I was a teenager (hey, it wasn’t that long ago) I hated reading about whiny characters, especially ones that were supposed to be my age.

       Anyway, once they get into the house the story starts to move at a little faster pace. The ‘bumps in the night’ start off on their first night there. I have to admit, I couldn’t read this one while I was home alone…or at night…..or without forcing my cat to sit with me. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a horrifying story, but it will definitely leave you feeling like someone else is there, watching you. (I’m gonna interject here that I absolutely adore the way that the ghosts ‘appear’ — I’ve never read anything else like it!)

       Meeting new neighbors can sometimes be dreadful, but not when they’re Ephraim and Lynley. I fell in love with Lyn immediately and Ephraim…….well, it took a while for me to really like Ephraim. And I’m still not sure I do! Christy has a gift for writing amazing book boyfriends, if you’ve read any of her other books you know what I’m talking about. But I was kind of unimpressed with the relationship Ephraim and Brylee had. To me, it felt a little forced and was too much, too fast and it just didn’t make sense with the rest of the story.

       Okay, I’m gonna say ‘spoilers’ just because I like to go into a book knowing very, very little about it. Don’t read ahead if you’re like me! If you’re fine knowing a little more than what the synopsis says, I promise I won’t give away major plot points so you may continue to read!

*********KIND-OF-MAYBE SPOILERS*********

       When Brylee finds out she can see ghosts and that Kayla, ‘the blue-haired girl’ who has told her so much about the house and the curse, just happens to be dead, things really get going. I couldn’t put this book down after find that out! And I love that Brylee really just wants to help, as horrible as that decision turned out.

*********************************************

       Uh, I know this review was kind of all over the place, but that’s just my mind after reading this. It left me reeling! There is so much in THE BROWN HOUSE that I don’t want to give away! I’m gonna stop before I accidentally tell you the whole story. I loved this book and give it 4 1/2 stars for it’s original ghosts, mature characters, amazing story flow and just all around awesome-ness.

Be sure to come back next Friday, Feb. 13 as I continue Christy Sloat Month with my review of THE CRIMSON KEY (VISITOR’S SERIES # 2).

1giveaway

       One winner will receive the entire Visitor’s Series (in eBook format). This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL. Must be 13 years or older to enter. Please read my Giveaway Policy before entering. Winner will be announced here, on The MissPhyre Library Facebook page and on Twitter. I will contact the winner directly using the email provided by Rafflecopter. Thanks and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giveaway(Over) + Review – The Brown House by Christy Sloat

  1. Donna-Dee Mullings says:

    i so want to read these! They sound fantastic!!

  2. bn100 says:

    nice covers

  3. Pingback: Giveaway + Review – Unfound by Christy Sloat | The MissPhyre Library

  4. Pingback: Giveaway + Review – The White Door by Christy Sloat | The MissPhyre Library

Leave a Reply

