Disenchanted Blog Tour – Review

Welcome to the Month Long Virtual Book Tour 
for Disenchantedthe recently released YA 
Fantasy novel by Leigh Goff.
 
 
Book Details:
Title: Disenchanted
Author: Leigh Goff
Genre(s): Young Adult, Fantasy Romance
Publisher: Musa Publishing, LLC http://www.musapublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-68009-045-1
Date Released: 12/19/2014

 

About Disenchanted:
 
A dark curse, a forbidden love, an impossible choice.
 
       Orphaned sixteen-year-old Sophie Goodchild is an outcast among the ordinaries and her coven, but not because she’s untalented. Descended from a powerful Wethersfield witch, her spellcasting gift is awkwardly emerging, but that’s the least of her worries. The boy she’s forbidden to fall for, a descendant of the man who condemned her ancestor to hang, carries a dark secret that could destroy them both unless Sophie learns how to tap into the mysterious power of her diamond bloodcharm.
       Suspenseful, dark, romantic, and brimming with old magic, Disenchanted captures the intrigue of New England’s witchlore.
My Review:
              I don’t know where to start telling you how much I loved this book! With shelves filled with witchcraft stories, fiction and historical alike, I think Disenchanted will forever stand out as one of my favorites. Sophie, even while being supernatural, remains human. Though she fights between her head and heart she ultimately makes her decisions based on her heart. That’s something I think we can all relate to.
             One of the things I loved about Disenchanted is it’s parallels to Romeo And Juliet. Along with all my “witchy” books, I love to read classics and Romeo And Juliet has always been a favorite. Leigh Goff merges the two worlds in such a way that I won’t ever be able to read R And J without wondering where all the spells are! She also found the one thing that R And J was missing…a Hottie McTottie Brit with a rebellious streak 😉 Another thing that drew me so far into the Disenchanted world was all of the subtle hints of real history woven in. It just makes you believe that this actually happened and that they just tried to keep it all quiet. I mean, you can even search the last name of ‘Hottie McTottie’ and you’ll pull up Salem Witch Trial articles!
             I know this review is kind of short, but it’s late (because I could not put this book down and I had to talk about it right away!) Overall I’m giving this book 5 Stars and a permanent place with my favorite books. Leigh Goff writes with such vivid imagery that you finish reading it and could swear you witnessed the events firsthand. She is definitely an author to keep you’re eye on. I think we are going to see some amazing things from her.
My Rating of Disenchanted: 5 Stars
Add Disenchanted to your Goodreads Shelf:
Purchase Your Copy at Musa Publishing:

Disenchanted by Leigh GoffPurchase Your copy at Amazon:Disenchanted

 
About the Author:
       After taking several writing courses in college and attending professional writing workshops after I graduated from the University of Maryland, University College, I began writing young adult fiction with purpose. I joined the Maryland Writers’ Association and Romance Writers of America and became an approved artist with the Maryland State Arts Council.
       My debut novel, Disenchanted, is now available, and I am working on my next, The Witch’s Ring, which will be set in Annapolis.
Follow the Tour:
Jan. 23 Character Interview ~ http://sharonledwith.blogspot.ca/
Jan. 26 Spotlight ~ http://www.drcpromotions.com/
Jan. 29 Spotlight ~ http://www.babsbookbistro.net/
Feb. 3 Spotlight ~ http://jojodebrazza.com/
Feb. 10 Guest Post ~ http://karynd19.tumblr.com
Tour Coordinated by Sapphyria’s Book Promotions 
 
About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disenchanted Blog Tour – Review

  1. Leigh Goff says:

    Thanks for hosting me today, MissPhyre!!

  2. Sapphyria says:

    Thank you so much for hosting today and for the wonderful review!

Leave a Reply

