Giveaway(Over) + Review – The Crimson Key by Christy Sloat

christysloatbanner

Hi, Librarians! It’s week two of Christy Sloat Month! That means I have a new review for you guys! This week I am reviewing Book 2 in The Visitor’s Series, THE CRIMSON KEY by Christy Sloat. Don’t forget the giveaway at the bottom!!! It runs until Feb. 28th! I have also added a surprise to the giveaway that was sent to me by Christy so I could give it to the winner, THANKS CHRISTY! (This part of the giveaway is US only) Let’s get to the review!

crimsonkey

The Crimson Key (The Visitor’s Series Book 2)

Author: Christy Sloat

My Rating: 5 Stars

Synopsis:

The truth can be deadly.

Brylee Branson’s best friend and boyfriend have fallen victim to a horrible curse that haunts her home. With the witches who cast it dead she has no choice but to rely on the ghosts inside the Brown house to help her find a cure. But time is not on her side, because Lynley’s illness is spreading rapidly.

Confused and scared, seventeen-year-old Brylee must confront a new ghost in the house she has never spoken to before. This spirit is not a Brown relative and makes no promises to help them … unless she can re-unite her with a loved one.

The fate of those she loves now rests on her. Can Brylee put the pieces of this puzzle together in time to save them? Or will the Brown house claim another victim?
*Synopsis taken from Goodreads

My Review

       The Crimson Key starts off, more or less, where The Brown House left off. We get right into all the weird-ness within the first few pages and it just didn’t slow down! (Ephraim and Lynley’s mom…WOW!) I breezed through this book in just a few hours. Good thing or I would have had a stroke from being so tense! Book one had quite a few ‘creepy’ moments but Christy definitely revved up the creep factor for book 2!

       As I have said before, I never know what to expect when reading one of Christy Sloats books. I try to guess at what’s to come and I’m always *always* wrong! I’m usually pretty good at it, very few authors can keep me on my toes the way that Christy Sloat does. Not only that, but she throws in ghosts where I least expect them to show up! I’ve been looking over my shoulder since finishing The Crimson Key and expecting to see a dead someone standing there.

       One of the things I love the most about The Visitor’s Series is Brylee. She is such an amazing character! Strong, mature, brave, wants to help others and she loves deeply. Sweet Lynley had my heart breaking the more she retreated into herself. Ephraim, you little sneak, stop hiding things! We know the curse is affecting you more than you are letting on! Uh, I really don’t want to give anything away! You will just have to read to find out if Brylee can figure out a way to save Lynley and Ephraim! I loved this continuation of The Brown House. Because of the fantastically real characters, creep factor and just over-all amazing story I give The Crimson Key 5 stars! And what better day to start reading this series (or re-reading this series!) than Friday the 13th!

Be sure to check back next Friday, Feb. 20th as I continue Christy Sloat Month with my review of UNFOUND (A VISITOR’S SERIES NOVELLA)

1giveaway

       One winner will receive the entire Visitor’s Series (in eBook format). This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL. Christy Sloat has donated some surprise swag for the giveaway, this part of the giveaway is US only, sorry international Librarians! Must be 13 years or older to enter. Please read my Giveaway Policy before entering. Winner will be announced here, on The MissPhyre Library Facebook page and on Twitter. I will contact the winner directly using the email provided by Rafflecopter. Thanks and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About MissPhyre

Hi! You can call me MissPhyre. I'm a Nanny by day and a reader by......well, always. I just recently got married and moved to a tiny apartment that barely holds all of my books. But that doesn't stop me from buying more! If I'm not working or reading (sometimes both) I can be found in my pillow fort binge watching Bones or Doctor Who. Popcorn is my one true junk food weakness...I would eat nothing but popcorn and mashed potatoes if I could get away with it!
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giveaway(Over) + Review – The Crimson Key by Christy Sloat

  1. Pingback: Giveaway + Review – Unfound by Christy Sloat | The MissPhyre Library

  2. Pingback: Giveaway + Review – The White Door by Christy Sloat | The MissPhyre Library

Leave a Reply

